Maryland Lacrosse: Matt Rambo wins Tewaaraton Award

Matt Rambo has had quite the week.

Just three days after leading Maryland to its first national championship in 42 years, Rambo won the Tewaaraton Award on Thursday. The annual award is given to the top player in college lacrosse.

Rambo beat out Trevor Baptiste (Denver), Connor Fields (Albany), Ben Reeves (Yale), and Patrick Spencer (Loyola, Md.) to give the Terrapins their first Tewaaraton Award winner in the program’s history. Reeves was the only player that was nominated for the prestigious award in 2016.

Joe Walters was the only Terp to be previously nominated for the Tewaaraton Award back in 2006.

Rambo had a very impressive season in which he scored 42 goals and dished out 45 assists. The Glenside, Pa. native also scooped up 30 ground balls and caused five turnovers for the Terps.

Rambo only had a goal and an assist in Monday’s 9-6 national title game win over Ohio State. However, he registered back-to-back eight-point outings against Bryant and Albany in the first two games of the NCAA Tournament.

The senior attackman also became the Maryland all-time goals and points leader during the postseason.

Rambo originally came to College Park as an Under Armour All-American and was one of the top recruits in the 2013 class. He scored a record eight goals in the Under Armour All American game back in 2013 and won MVP honors for his efforts.

In each of his seasons at Maryland, Rambo’s production increased. As a freshman, he scored 30 goals and had just six assists.

As time went on, the Tewaaraton Award winner became more of a facilitator, which made him a dual-threat.

Rambo ended his Maryland career on the highest of notes possible with a national title and now the most decorated award in college lacrosse.