Taylor Cummings wins Tewaaraton Award


It was a phenomenal season for the Maryland women’s lacrosse team.

On Thursday, the banner season continued as Taylor Cummings won the Tewaaraton Award.

Cummings took home the annual award for the top player in women’s college lacrosse. The junior midfielder, who won the award as a sophomore as well, scored 63 goals and dished out 37 assists during the 2015 championship season. Her 100 points were tops in the nation.

The Maryland star won the award over midfielder Shannon Gilroy (Florida), midfielder Sarah Mannelly (Boston College), defender Barbara Sullivan (Notre Dame), and attack/midfielder Kayla Treanor (Syracuse).

Cummings also led the Terrapins with 41 ground balls and 36 forced turnovers. In Maryland’s national title game victory over North Carolina, the McDonogh product registered three goals and two assists.

Live Feed

UNC Women’s Lacrosse: Jenny Levy receives Legacy Award
UNC Women’s Lacrosse: Jenny Levy receives Legacy Award /

Keeping It Heel

  • UNC Women’s Lacrosse: Jenny Levy signs extensionKeeping It Heel
  • Michigan Wolverines news: Shemy Schembechler resigns position amid controversy, and moreGBMWolverine
  • Michigan Wolverines roundup: Lacrosse knocked out by Duke, baseball sweptGBMWolverine
  • Michigan Wolverines news: Michigan football makes top 6 for EDGE, huge day for lacrosse, and moreGBMWolverine
  • Syracuse Orange women's lacrosse is dominant in NCAA Tournament winInside the Loud House
  • This marks the second time in the past five years that a Terp has won the Tewaaraton Award. Katie Schwarzmann earned the distinction in 2012 and 2013.

    From the men’s side of things, we also saw a repeat of the Tewaaraton Award winner. Albany attackman Lyle Thompson won the annual award over attackman Wesley Berg (Denver), attackman Matt Kavanagh (Notre Dame), midfielder Myles Jones (Duke), and attackman Kevin Rice (Syracuse).

    Thompson registered 52 goals and dished out 69 assists as he led the Great Danes to the NCAA quarterfinals and an America East title.

    Neither Tewaaraton Award winner should come as any surprise to anyone who has watched collegiate lacross this season. Cummings and Thompson completely dominated the sport once again, and are among some of the best players to grace the field in quite some time.