Kyle Bernlohr wins Kelly Award


Despite standout goalie Niko Amato graduating last summer, Maryland hasn’t missed a beat.

On Friday morning, goalie Kyle Bernlohr was tabbed as the Kelly Award winner, which is given to the most outstanding goalkeeper in college lacrosse.

This is the ninth time that a Maryland netminder has earned this distinction. It is the second consecutive year that a Terrapin has won the award as Amato won it a season ago.

During his junior season, Bernlohr compiled a 13-3 record to go along with a 6.57 goals-against-average and a .589 save percentage. His goals-against-average is tops in the nation

This was the first time since 1961-1962 that a different goalie from the same school earned the honor. Johns Hopkins was that school, which is ironic because the Blue Jays face the Terps in the NCAA Tournament semifinals on Saturday afternoon.

Bernlohr has had quite the path to get here. The Akron native sat behind Amato for three years as he took the ACC by storm. Bernlohr even considered transferring from Maryland in order to be able to see the field.

More from Maryland Men's Lacrosse

Stellar goalkeeping has looked to be a staple at Maryland recently, but the Terps hadn’t had a goalie win the Kelly Award since 1996 when Brian “Doc” Dougherty earned the honor.

On Thursday, Bernlohr was one of five Maryland players that earned USILA All-American honors. Defender Matt Dunn, defender Casey Ikeda, midfielder Joe LoCascio, and midfielder Charlie Raffa also were awarded All-American honors.

Bernlohr really has come up big for the Terps when they’ve needed him against the likes of Yale and North Carolina in the NCAA Tournament. He’ll have a chance to add to his historic season at Championship Weekend.