Sep 14, 2013; East Hartford, CT, USA; Connecticut Huskies quarterback Chandler Whitmer (10) is sacked by Maryland Terrapins linebacker Marcus Whitfield (left) and linebacker Yannik Cudjoe-Virgil (right) during the first half at Rentschler Field. Mandatory Credit: Mark L. Baer-USA TODAY Sports

Yannik Cudjoe-Virgil Named To Butkus Award Watch List


Another week, more accolades for the Maryland football team.

On Monday, Terrapins linebacker Yannik Cudjoe-Virgil was one of 51 finalists named to the Butkus Award watch list. Cudjoe-Virgil was one of six Big Ten linebackers named to the list.

Miami’s Denzel Perryman is the only 2013 semifinalist to make this year’s list. The 2013 award was won by Alabama and Baltimore Ravens linebacker C.J. Mosley. The only Terp to ever win the award was E.J. Henderson back in 2002.

Cudjoe-Virgil record 18 tackles (eight solo) and three sacks in six games for the Terps in 2013. His junior season was cut short due to a torn pectoralis (chest muscle).

2013 was Cudjoe-Virgil’s first with Maryland after transferring from Division II Seton Hill University. He had 8.5 sacks during his two-year career at Seton Hill.

The pass rushing specialist recorded 2.5 sacks against Connecticut on Sept. 14 and recorded 16 of his tackles during the first three weeks of the season.

Cudjoe-Virgil will likely see an increased role in his senior season due to the loss of linebacker Marcus Whitfield to graduation.

Cudjoe-Virgil joins several Terps with being named to a preseason watch list, including wideout Stefon Diggs (Hornung & Maxwell Award), center Sal Conaboy (Rimington Award), and kicker Brad Craddock (Groza Award).

Tags: Big Ten Butkus Award Marcus Whitfield Maryland Terrapins Football Yannik Cudjoe-Virgil

comments powered by Disqus