Baltz Named A Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

Punter/placekicker Travis Baltz has been named a semifinalist from the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy, informally known as the “Academic Heisman”.

Heather Dinich highlighted the important parts of the release:

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 finalists and announce the results on Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner will have his scholarship increased to $25,000 and receive a 25-pound bronze trophy at the NFF’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 at the prestigious Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The last ACC Player to win the award was UVA’s Thomas Burns in 1993. Miami’s Joaquin Gonzalez won the award in 2001, but the Hurricanes were still a member of the Big East Conference at that time.

Tags: Awardwatchlist Football Travisbaltz

comments powered by Disqus